Sean Perry Wins PokerGO Cup Finale, Jeremy Ausmus Overall Champ

Sean Perry
Sean Perry won the Event #8: $50,000 PokerGO Cup finale for $640,000 and was the only player to claim two series wins. However, Jeremy Ausmus, who finished third at the final table on Thursday, was crowned the overall series winner to become the 2022 PokerGO Cup champ.

Perry entered the final table with a massive chip lead following Wednesday’s Day 1 session at the PokerGO Studio in Las Vegas. The final session of the 32-entry no-limit hold’em tournament played out similarly to Day 1 with the same player dominating the game. The champ also won Event #2 for $200,000 after winning six high rollers in 2021. Only Ali Imsirovic, who already has two high roller titles in 2022, won more with 14 victories.

“You better believe it, for sure I am,” Perry said of chasing the PokerGO Tour Player of the Year title. “I took some time off at the beginning of this year, I missed a bunch of events, but this win has me motivated and they have something to fear.”

Entering the final table, there were still four players mathematically alive in the chase for the PokerGO Cup championship. But three of them — Perry, Brock Wilson, and Daniel Negreanu — didn’t control their own destiny. Ausmus, on the other hand, was in the driver’s seat well ahead of the competition in the standings at 504 points.

Negreanu, with 210 points, had to win and hope Ausmus was the first to bust at the final table. Instead, “DNegs” was the first to go and was eliminated in fifth place ($112,000), ending his run to repeat as PokerGO Cup champion.

Perry, at 232 points, could only win if Ausmus busted in fourth or worse and he won the tournament. Unfortunately, for the multiple event winner, Nick Schulman went out in fourth place ($176,000), ending Perry’s shot.

When Ausmus busted in third place ($256,000), Wilson had a chance to pull it out, but he’d have to overcome a 7:1 chip disadvantage when heads-up play began.

Ausmus finished with 658 points, Perry was in second with 616, and Wilson took third with 570. PokerGO founder Cary Katz, who racked up 346 points, was a distant fourth place. With that, the 2022 PokerGO Cup officially came to an end.

PokerGO Cup Event #8 Final Results

Place Player Prize
1 Sean Perry $640,000
2 Brock Wilson $416,000
3 Jeremy Ausmus $256,000
4 Nick Schulman $176,000
5 Daniel Negreanu $112,000
Author: webmaster

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.