Mark Davis Wins Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown; Denies Elias 5th WPT Title

Mark Davis
After a six-week hiatus, the final six players from a 2,010-entry field in the $3,500 buy-in World Poker Tour (WPT) Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown reconvened at the HyperX Esports Arena in Las Vegas at Luxor.

Darren Elias is the World Poker Tour’s end boss. He holds the tour’s lead in titles (4), final-table finishes (12), and cashes (44). On Wednesday, May 25 he very nearly extended his WPT title record, making it all the way down to heads-up from a field of 2,010 entries in the 2022 WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown $3,500 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event. There was only one player remaining between Elias and his fifth title: Mark Davis. The recent World Series of Poker Circuit main event winner from Birmingham, Alabama clashed with Elias in a four-hour heads-up match, with almost 100 hands played between the final two competitors with the title and a seven-figure top prize on the line. In the end, Davis denied Elias, securing the $1,000,300 payday and his first WPT title for the win.

The final table of this event was filmed for television at the HyperX Esports Arena in Las Vegas at Luxor. After two starting flights and three more days of action at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Hollywood in South Florida, the field was narrowed down to six entries back on April 12. Elias came into the final table with nearly 40 percent of the total chips in play.

The heads-up match lasted nearly 100 hands and proved to be a back-and-forth affair. Eventually Davis picked off a bluff from Elias by calling with just king-high, and five hands later it was all over. On Hand #150, jammed the turn with a gutshot straight draw and Davis snap-called with bottom two pair. Elias bricked the river and had to settle for second place and $660,000 in prize money, which brought his lifetime earnings up over $10.5 million according to The Hendon Mob.

WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown Final Table Payouts

1 Mark Davis $1,000,300
2 Darren Elias $660,000
3 Marcos Exterkotter $490,000
4 Viet Vo $370,000
5 Andrew Barfield $280,000
6 Michael Laufer $215,000


Author: webmaster

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.